The name 'rhinoceros' comes from ancient Greek and means 'horned nose'. There are only 5 species of rhino left making them one of the most endangered animals.



The rhinoceros has been on our planet for 60 million years. 30 species existed millions of years ago but today there are only 5 species - 2 African and 3 Asian. During the 1970s and 1980s more than 85% of the world's rhino population was killed, bringing this unique animal to the edge of extinction.

According to the IUCN:
The Greater One-Horned Rhinoceros, (aka the Indian Rhinoceros) is Vulnerable.

The Javan Rhinoceros is Critically Endangered.

The Black Rhinoceros is Critically Endangered.

The Sumatran Rhinoceros is Critically Endangered.

The White Rhinoceros is Near Threatened.

Read More: Daggers and Drugs

Related Resources

Please donate £5 to help YPTE to continue its work of inspiring young people to look after our world.

Donate £5 X