Macaws are members of the parrot family which has 340 species. 17 different species of Macaw are found in the rainforests of South America.  Many of them are endangered.



MacawOrder: Psittaciformes

Family: sittacidae

Species: 19 known species

IUCN Status: Least Concern

Population Trend: decreasing

Distribution: throughout much of Central and South America, from Panama to northern tip of Argentina.

Habitat: forests, especially those that grow in swampy ground or along rivers; more open country when searching for food.

Description: rich blue on the crown, nape, back, wings and upperside of tail: golden yellow on the underside of the tail. Large black patch on throat, black bill. White, bare skin on sides of face with wavy lines of small, black feathers.

Size: length of body to tail tip, 85cm. Tail, 50cm. The largest species of macaw is the hyacinth which is 1 metre long from head to tail tip. The red-shouldered macaw is the smallest, measuring 30cm.

Life-span: up to 50 years in captivity

Food: nuts, fruit, seeds, berries. Macaws are members of the parrot family which has 340 species. There are 16 species of macaw at the moment but some of these are close to extinction. 

Read More: Breeding

Related Resources

Please donate £5 to help YPTE to continue its work of inspiring young people to look after our world.

Donate £5 X